Road to Slovenia and castle Snežnik

IMG_5332
on the road

Hello fellow Globetrotters!

This time, you will see some pictures from my holidays in Slovenia. Oh and this time it´s Janet speeking. In the first two pictures you can see my way to Slovenia out of the train.
It was amazing – I wasn´t even really there, but had a view like this!
So exciting! I was in Romania before and have seen some mountains there before, but this time it was different. If you want to see the Romania posts, klick here.

IMG_5314
view
IMG_5709
Snežnik castle

I visited the Snežnik castle, as you can see in the picture. The furnishing is still mostly from the 18th and 19th century. Some of the furniture you can see in the fourth picture. There is no other castle like this in Slovenia, as far as they told us.
Sometimes it was a little bit odd to walk around in a castle with furnishings and fittings – it was just like you walk around in a home of somebody who is just not at home.
But it was still a unique experience and I really enjoyed it. And of course I would recommend that! The old wine cellar is different than it was then, when I visited the castle, there was some art arranged.

IMG_5751
the latest owners
IMG_5760
for children
IMG_5762
room
IMG_5767
egypt room

After we walked around in the castle, we looked at the garden and found this hidden old building. It felt like a place that keeps a secret and I wish I could have explored it.
The only thing I got to know was that this place was used for ice storage in summer.

And of course I visited the Snežnik mountain, as you can see in the next post! Stay tuned.

IMG_5780
trophys
IMG_5788
art
IMG_5797
hidden

 

See you soon at our next destination!

Shout it out!

