Weekly Quote 16/52

I think it is very healthy to spend time alone. You need to be alone and not be defined by another person.

Oscar Wilde

I never had a real problem with being alone. As a small child I spent a lot of time reading (still do quite a lot).
But once I got to the age of something like thirteen or so; I always felt like I was missing something. I didn’t appreciate evenings spent apart from my friends, just with myself. But once I grew older (16 now) I kind of realized that you don’t need a lot of friends; you just need good friends. And along with that I learned that spending time alone can be really good.
There was a time I didn’t really feel comfortable going into public alone. I am not talking about a walk to the supermarket or something like that. More about doing a hobby on my own outside.
This changed; one factor actually being my camera and my passion towards photography. I always loved photography since I was a small child. But only once I got my SLR I started to explore the area I am living in on my own; especially the park area nearby. I got comfortable with spending time with only myself.
Now I even need time for myself. It is definitely not that I don’t enjoy the company of other people. It is just that sometimes being around other people is really draining on me. And I feel like I need to recharge. Not only from being around other people but also what comes with that: Stress and Anxiety. To name two bad things because everyone hopefully knows what is good about being around other people; everyone has a different definition of it. But is just how it is; It is in the nature of humans to spread negativity; often in terms of judgement.
But that is not the only thing. Often you are not fully expressing yourself while being around other people. Although you try.
But I accepted that that is part of who I am. I just need time to recharge.
Often people try to deny something that is a part of them and end up feeling only miserable. As an example; depression. You are not defined by it, it is just a part of you that makes you also you.
And what is important; being alone doesn’t mean that you are lonely.
I think a lot of people dislike spending time alone because it makes them vulnerable in a lot of ways. You have time to think. Being alone with your thoughts for too long can be dangerous.
But it also gives you an opportunity. An opportunity to reflect on your life. Decisions you took, mistakes you made, good things you did and so on. It is an opportunity to grow.
And to listen to yourself, realize what is good for you. And maybe even sort out what made you feel bad. Because when you are really alone with no distractions you have no other choice than to listen. And feel. And listen to those feelings.

Only when you are alone you can really figure out who you are. Not who you are around other people. Sometimes it is hard to see who you really are if you spend all the time around other people. It shouldn’t be like that because; why should we pretend to be someone we are not. Often we still do just that. May it be to fit into a group or just do what everyone is doing. True; that is most often easier. But easy … is that the way to go?! Sometimes easy is the best option but not in all matters of life; for example your personality.
You are the one who chooses what you want, what you are doing. How you are. You decide if you are happy or not. You shouldn’t be doing things just because someone told you it is good.
Part of being yourself is having your own opinion and acting about it. Sometimes it is necessary to do things you don’t enjoy because they have to be done. In some parts of our life compromises are the way to rule. But still; your own well-being shouldn’t be affected negatively.

One of the best ways to figure out who you are is while traveling alone. There is this saying “go far enough and you will find yourself”.
While traveling you are confronted with new things and new experiences, you have to react to them. Reacting and dealing with foreign situations make you grow.
You will learn what your strengths and weaknesses are. And somewhere along those lines you will find out parts about you.
I see it the way that you never really know who you are because every situation, information and mostly every second changes you.
I see the human being as an ever-growing and changing figure that in lifetime can’t reach the end of expanding.

See you soon at our next destination.

 

Watch also: Weekly Quote 15/52

Shout it out!

