The little mermaid ~ Copenhagen

Hello fellow Globetrotters!

This post is about Janet´s favourite part of the Copenhagen trip.
I do not want to say I didn´t enjoy everything else, but if you read the About me you´ll probably know why this one was my favourite.

IMG_0491

Therefore, I need to tell you a little bit about the history.
First of all I want to tell you why the little sculpture is located in it´s spot. As the legends say, the water of Oresund used to be full of mermaids and the home of all those mermaids were the mermaid banks in Oresund – right where the little mermaid sits on her rock.

IMG_0487

As I said before, the sculpture made by Edward Erikson (a common name in Scandinavia as we got to know – so cool!), is very small – just 1.25 metres /4 feet high.
It was commissioned by he Carlsberg brewer Carl Jacobsen in 1909, impressed by the ballet “The little mermaid” which again was based on a fairy tale written by Hans Christian Andersen.

IMG_0488

IMG_0492

His tale is about the youngest daughter of a sea king, who wants to have an eternal life, just like humans do.
As you probably know, mermaids only live 300 years before they turn into sea foam.
If you want to know more about the tale it´s probably the best to either read it or to read the summary on wikipedia.

IMG_0503

So my fellow Globetrotters, that´s it about the little mermaid.
Even if you saw the pictures now, don’t think it is not worth visiting it yourself.-
It´s a wonderful and of course magical experience and you definitely should do it!

DSC09286.JPG

I would be interested in your opinion on one thing here: would you give up your life for having a human soul?
Or the other way around: would you give away your soul to become a mermaid?

See you soon at our next destination!

10 thoughts on “The little mermaid ~ Copenhagen

  1. Wish I could see her in real life. ☺️ Maybe someday when my journey takes me to Europe. Dunno if I would give my soul away for being a mermaid, don’t know how it would be without.

    Liked by 1 person

Shout it out!

