Wild Atlantic Way I ~ Ireland

dsc01985

Hello fellow Globetrotters!
We are already almost at the end of my first of two weeks during my WWOOFing experience in Ireland. The first week I spent on a farm in the area of Sligo.
On this particular day the wheater was most of the time not sunny at all, rather rainy and windy. Something that fits Ireland.

dsc01990

dsc01991

dsc01993
The Benbulben, which is also known as Ireland’s version of the Table mountain was mostly hidden inside the clouds that were ever constant on that day.
dsc01995
dsc02011

The Wild Atlantic Way is also known as Ireland’s spectecular coastal route and just judging by the short part I had the opportunity to witness of it I can only agree.
And I just know that one day I have to come back again and do the full route.
The Wild Atlantic Way, 2600 km in length, is one of the longest defined coastal route in the world, it winds  all along the Irish west coast from the Inishowen Peninsula in the north down to Kinsale, County Cork, in the south.
This route is supposed to unfold the wonders of nature, the power of the ocean and its imprint on the west coast of Ireland.
dsc02014

dsc02023
Although the landscape has really got a strong character when it is raining and all it bit dull, I can only imagine how beautiful it must be when the sun is actually shining.
dsc02027
dsc02032

Due to it being the end of June I am always suprised that you almost never meet anyone on the strolls around nature. For instance we only saw two people from a distance.
dsc02038
dsc02052
dsc02065

Which coasts can you recommend?
If you want to see more about Ireland: The Mountain Walk , Part 1 , Market , Beach Walk and my first impression.
On saturday there will be the second part of the Wild Atlantic Way.

dsc02073
See you soon at our next destination!

8 thoughts on “Wild Atlantic Way I ~ Ireland

Shout it out!

