Arrival 2nd Farm ~ Ireland

DSC02335
Hello fellow Globetrotters!
You all seem to have really enjoyed the first part about my time in Ireland, if you haven’t seen that, feel free to check those posts out.
In the summer of 2016, at the age of just 17, I decided to go travelling on my own.
I opted for travelling the alternative way and took part in WWOOFing (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms).
If seems like, if you are under 18, you are only allowed to do this in Portugal and Ireland.
Ever since I was young, I have always dreamed of going to Ireland, so this was the perfect chance for my dream to come true.
I only had a period of two weeks, as I went to France with my family afterwards and the summer holidays in Germany are only six weeks.
If you would like to know more about my WWOOFing experience or WWOOFing itself, I will be doing an extra post about that. What would you think about a Q&A for that?

DSC02340

The second farm I worked on was in a very rural region of Ireland, between County Clare and County Galway.
On most of my walks I never really met anyone, apart from a few more or less shy cows and horses and a very unique Irish fella.

DSC02343
As the previous farm I had been working and living on had been in the area of Sligo, I had to take two buses to get near the second farm.
My previous hosts kindly dropped me off at the bus stop and after we said goodbye, it was time to continue my journey. I had already looked up the busses I had to take, back in Germany, so I thought everything would be relatively easy.
And it was, at first.
Everything went well until I got to Galway. I had over an hour until my second bus would leave and as I was really hungry, I left the train & bus station in search for something to eat.
On the information sheet, I had with me, it said, the bus stop would be only four minutes away, so I had no worries.
With about fifteen minutes to spare, I got back to the train station, to ask from where the bus would leave. But for some reason, no one had any idea and after I had asked about teen people, I saw my bus leaving right in front of my eyes.
(Lesson learned, next time; find bus stop first and then look for food.)
I had no idea what to do, I was on my own in a foreign country. After I called my parents and they checked online, I knew that it had been the last bus of the day to go to the town, my host wanted to pick me up from.
For a few moments, I thought I actually had to look for a hostel to spend the night in.
Luckily after a few tries my host called me back and agreed to pick me up in another town, which I could reach by bus on the same day.
On the way to the farm, my host informed me that currently two Italian boys (both 16) were also staying on the farm.

DSC02344

After I had met the boys and was shown around the farm, the four of us had dinner together.
Everything was completely different from the first place I had been in.
From a family, who made me feel like a family member and no other place for a WWOOFer, to a single woman on a yoga/ spiritual farm living with a Madagascan and plenty of room for other WWOOFers.
A comfortable bathroom almost to myself, in exchange for a compost toilet and an inside toilet you should not flush. “If it’s yellow let it mellow, if it’s brown flush it down.”
After dinner I went outside for a walk to explore the area and give a call to my parents. I have to say on that first day I really felt nervous and a bit out-of-place.
But with the rain and darkness setting in, I also felt a spark of happiness for the unknown and just told myself to go with everything that was to come.
That night I went to sleep in my bunk bed, knowing that I would soon be sharing it with people I have never met.

DSC02345

“How can you know what you’re capable of if you don’t embrace the unknown?”
-Esmeralda Santiago

DSC02346

See you soon at our next destination!

3 thoughts on “Arrival 2nd Farm ~ Ireland

  1. I am intrigued about the “very unique Irish fella”…. Some interesting experiences here! “If it’s yellow let it mellow, if it’s brown flush it down.” – ah god, I know it’s environmentally friendly and all that, but I just have to flush my toilet…

    Liked by 1 person

Shout it out!

